401 Online Gambling Operators Banned from Greek Market

Published Sunday, August 04, 2013 - Online-Casinos.com
401 Online Gambling Operators Banned from Greek Market

In the European Union many countries are not complying with the European Commission’s recommendations regarding the offering of online gambling services.

Greece recently announced it would be keeping its monopoly running and will now deter other internet wagering operators from offering their products to Greek patrons. The history of the Greek gambling situation has been a long and protracted one with other members of the Union calling foul when it comes to the rules about free electronic commerce among nations.

The Greek Organization of Football Prognostics, or OPAP has been given priority over others by the Greek government. The monopoly has been ruled illegal by the European Union’s Court of Justice and while the E.C. initially prohibited the Greek legislation, it lifted this ban earlier this year allowing for the new Greek laws to come into effect.

OPAP, has been granted a land-based monopoly on gambling until the year 2020. OPAP is the only provider allowed to offer online sports betting, poker cash games, and casino gambling. The Commission for the Supervision and Control of Games has now published a blacklist of 401 online gambling sites that are prohibited from operating within the country.

Greek internet service providers were provided with the extensive list and told to block access to the illegal gambling web locations. The Bank of Greece has also been sent the list of prohibited locations in order to block and financial transactions coming from the prohibited sites.

Of the 401 banned online gambling operators, big names such as Bwin.party digital entertainment and 888 poker as well as Party Poker and Poker Heaven are also included in the government’s banned operators edict. Interesting though is the noted exception of Full Tilt Poker and Poker Stars from the black list. Greece is following a blocking trend that is moving through other European Union countries such as Belgium and Germany.

Related news

Return to Latest News