Fantasy Sports Online Betting Review Requested

Published Monday, September 21, 2015 -
Fantasy Sports Online Betting Review Requested

The USA has been having serious issues by allowing daily fantasy sports betting to flourish and become ingrained in American gambling culture. The biggest concern has been legality but the moral aspect has also been revealed lately with the Pac-12 Conference distancing itself from daily fantasy sports betting by not allowing advertising on its TV networks.

The Pacific-12 Conference is a collegiate athletic conference that operates in the Western United States. The conference's 12 members are located in Arizona, California, Colorado, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. They include each state's flagship public university, four additional public universities, and two private research universities. The Pac-12 owns its conference network, while the Big Ten and SEC networks have affiliations with Fox Sports and ESPN, respectively.

Commissioner of the Pac-12 Conference Larry Scott was quoted in  USA Today that web-based DraftKings and FanDuel come a little too close to online betting to be promoted on a platform for college athletics. DraftKings and FanDuel  offer real money payouts to winners.  The sites are currently deemed a game of skill like traditional fantasy football and not wagering and are therefore legal in a number of jurisdictions in the USA.

Rep. Frank Pallone Jr. from New Jersey, recently requested a congressional hearing to examine the relationship between fantasy sports and gambling and evaluate the legal status of fantasy sports. Pallone, a strong advocate for legalized and regulated professional sports betting and the billions in profits it would bring to New Jersey. Pallone said, “Despite how mainstream these sites have become, the legal landscape governing these activities remains murky and should be reviewed.”

The roots of the Pacific-12 Conference go a long way back to December 2, 1915, when the Pacific Coast Conference, (PCC) was founded at a meeting in Portland, Oregon. Charter members were the University of California, the University of Washington, the University of Oregon, and Oregon Agricultural College. The conference began play in 1916.






Related news

Return to Latest News